Imelda May Releases New Video. The video is for her new song ‘Should’ve Been You’ and precedes her 2017 Headline UK/Ireland Tour.

Eddie Otchere

Imelda May has released a video for ‘Should’ve Been You’. The track is cut from the Irish singer’s fifth studio album, ‘Life. Love. Flesh. Blood’, which is set to be released on Friday 7th April 2017.

Discussing the song and clip, May said:

“I wrote Should’ve Been You as a personal story of heartbreak, regret and eventual empowerment but when making this video I wanted it to reflect current feelings of solidarity amongst lots of women worldwide in response to events unfolding around us such as the Trump administration’s approach to affordable health and maternity issues. I wanted to ask the question ‘who takes care of us? We are 50% of the world and it’s the people in power’s responsibility to take care of women as well.

It still seems like it’s a man’s world and in 2017 that’s shocking. And I have a young daughter, which changes your perception of how you want things to be. You want to leave her a better world, you think ahead that way.” The women in the video, who were predominately made up of my fans, represent a cross section of wonderful everyday women – superwomen from all walks of life.

They are not victims or aggressive towards men but are powerful and positive representations of the female spirit and solidarity. I am very proud of it. We worked hard, had fun, had many laughs and all before most ran off to do the school run! They all made me feel proud to be a woman!”

You can watch the official video for ‘Should’ve Been You’ in this article.

Pete Sargeant

Imelda May’s new studio album ‘Life, Love, Flesh, Blood’ is released on Friday 7th April 2017.

You can pre-order the album on Amazon UK here: http://amzn.to/2n7smwV

For more information visit her official website here: http://bit.ly/2oEKTNR

In addition, Imelda May will be embarking on an extensive UK/Ireland Tour in May 2017 to support the release. 

The May 2017 Tour will stop at the following venues: 

Imelda May

Thursday 4th May 2017 – Regent Theatre, Ipswich, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2axscY4

Friday 5th May 2017 – St David’s Hall, Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2a2nVLc

Saturday 6th May 2017 – Corn Exchange, Cambridge, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2a1l5XR

Monday 8th May 2017 – Southend Cliffs Pavilion, Southend, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2oW0Ui4

Tuesday 9th May 2017 – G Live, Guildford, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2hxNhSe

Thursday 11th May 2017 – Hexagon Theatre, Reading, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2nTIwH4

Friday 12th May 2017 – Bournemouth Pavilion Theatre, Bournemouth, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2ecFERn

Saturday 13th May 2017 – Nottingham Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2hfOmid

Monday 15th May 2017 – Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2nabbqP

Tuesday 16th May 2017 – York Barbican, York, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2amLlJS

Thursday 18th May 2017  – Palladium Theatre, London, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2gMBxeI

 

Friday 19th May 2017 – Colston Hall, Bristol, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/29StdKT

Saturday 20th May 2017 – Bridgewater Hall, Manchester, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2a1mKN5

Monday 22nd May 2017 – Symphony Hall, Birmingham, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2al3SFu

Tuesday 23rd May 2017 – Usher Hall, Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2cQjog8

Wednesday 24th May 2017 – Royal Concert Hall, Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2mFh5SW

Friday 26th May 2017 – Sage Gateshead, Gateshead, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2a3RVJk

Saturday 27th May 2017 – Waterfront Hall Auditorium, Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom http://bit.ly/2kw4fTZ

Monday 29th May 2017 – Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Dublin, Ireland http://bit.ly/2nYPLiT

Tuesday 30th May 2017 – Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Dublin, Ireland http://bit.ly/2nYPLiT

Wednesday 31st May 2017 – Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Dublin, Ireland http://bit.ly/2nYPLiT