Joshua Hedley Announces Debut Album.

Jamie Goodsell

Mr. Jukebox, the highly anticipated debut album from Joshua Hedley, will be released Friday 20th April 2018 on Third Man Records and is now available for pre-order here. Watch the video for the title track in this article.

Produced by Jordan Lehning and Skylar Wilson, the 10-track album features nine original songs as well as a version of “When You Wish Upon A Star.” In addition to Hedley on vocals and fiddle, the album features Eddie Lange on steel guitar/guitar, Jeremy Fetzer from Steelism on guitar/baritone guitar, Michael Rinne on bass, Jon Radford on drums/percussion and Micah Hulscher on piano/organ.

Hedley comments, “It’s not a throwback. It sounds new because it is new, and it sounds the way it sounds because it’s the only thing I know how to do. I can’t write a song that sounds different. Classic country is like a suit. Nothing about a men’s suit has changed in like 100 years. Classic never goes out of style.”

A Florida native, Hedley felt inexplicably drawn toward the fiddle as a child. He first asked for one at age 3. His mom listened to Neil Diamond and his dad listened to Otis Redding––they didn’t see the request coming––but when he asked again five years later, they were struck by the longing’s staying power and, at 8 years-old, he finally got his wish.

He went on to perform at the local VFW and American Legion and, at 12, joined his first band. His bandmates were in their 40s. Around the same time, Hedley visited Nashville with his parents and immediately knew that he belonged. At 19, he made the move and began sneaking into Robert’s Western World––too young to drink legally and too wild to care.

Joshua Hedley went on to become a featured performer and in-demand sideman at the now legendary spot and, ultimately, a well-respected frontman. Armed with an easy croon and prodigious fiddle playing, he became known by peers as the Mayor of Lower Broad. In the years since, he’s performed with artists including Jonny Fritz, Justin Townes Earle and was featured prominently in the 2015 documentary, Heartworn Highways Revisited.

Mr Jukebox Album Tracklisting

1. Counting All My Tears
2. Mr. Jukebox
3. Weird Thought Thinker
4. Let’s Take A Vacation
5. If These Walls Could Talk
6. I Never Shed A Tear For You
7. This Time
8. Don’t Waste Your Tears
9. Let Them Talk
10. When You Wish Upon A Star

Glenn Sargeant

(Many thanks to Ashley, Henry and all of the team at MBC PR for help with this announcement)

Feature Image Photo Credit: Jamie Goodsell

Joshua Headley’s debut album ‘Mr Jukebox’ is released on Friday 20th April 2018 on Third Man Records.

You can pre-order the album here:

In addition, Joshua will precede the the release with a headline show at The Waiting Room, Stoke Newington, London, United Kingdom on Thursday 12th April 2018. 

For tickets and more information visit his official website here:

Joshua Hedley