Various Artists

Rockin’ The Blues Compilation

(Provogue Records/Mascot Label Group)

One handy recap on some quality releases this year on this label plus an unreleased number. There’s probably no better way of getting to know the label’s current roster and the selections are uniformly good, inspired even.


Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band – Diamonds & Gold is one of the catchier songs from their current album, which is probably the most consistent and entertaining of all releases in 2017. Marvellous horns !

Quinn Sullivan – Midnight Highway shows the moodier side of this great young artist, with classy restrained guitar and an Allmans feel.

Eric Gales – Been So Long is a sly funk workout from the axe flipper, excellent vocal and band cohesion.

Walter Trout – We’re All In This Together – with Joe Bonamassa aboard, Trout mines the slow chug to put his message over. Joe supplies fine counterpoint guitar.

Beth Hart – Love Is A Lie is one of the highlights of her last release and she mines a Simone vibe to hit you with a dramatic song.

Gary Hoey – Dust & Bones is a god example of this ultra-talented muso’s art and a quality song to boot. His guitar tones are out of this world!

Lance Lopez – Mr Lucky is the John Lee Hooker tune thrown into the Texas dust with wailing harp and surefooted bass. Excellent effort.

SIMO – People Say finds the Nashville psych-blues outfit presenting a nimble funk outing with a fierce vocal and ESP work from the bass and drums. No Simo cut is typical so get the album…..

Thomas Wynn & The Believers – Wade Waist Deep employs rich tremelo’d electric piano for a reflective Southern Soul number, excellent vocal arrangement and a real twilight ambience.

Supersonic Blues Machine – L.O.V.E. is a choppy mid-paced rocker, with slivers of harp and ringing guitar. Could hear the late Johnny Winter doing this number, it’s the ache of the vocal.

Jonny Lang – Stronger Together is an infectious soul-blues composition which gives that yearning voice a fine platform to testify. And thanks for the signed scratchplate, young man!

Sonny Landreth – Blues Attack comes from his live set. No Sonny cut is typical but this easy-going has a hint of Zydeco and a dry-as-dust vocal.

Black Stone Cherry – Champagne & Reefer is taken on by the Kentucky lads and surely Muddy Waters smiles down from above!

Ronnie Baker Brooks – Times Have Changed comes from a consistently impressive album from Brooks – elemental and contemporary.

Pete Sargeant


(Thanks to the Mascot crew)

‘Rockin’ The Blues’ compilation is out now on Provogue Records/Mascot Label Group.

You can purchase the album here:

You can read our chat with Kenny Wayne Shepherd here:

Our talk with Quinn Sullivan can be located here:

Our second conversation with SBM’s Fabrizio is available here:

We spoke to Black Stone Cherry’s Chris Robertson about their Blues EP here:

In addition, Rockin’ The Blues’ will be embarking on its first European tour in March 2018 with Eric Gales, Gary Hoey, Quinn Sullivan and special guest Lance Lopez. 

The tour concludes at The Garage, London United Kingdom on Saturday 17th March 2018. 

You can purchase both regular and VIP Tickets for Rockin’ The Blues. 

Tickets for the tour can be purchased on the festival’s official website here:


Rockin' The Blues
Rockin' The Blues