Joe Bonamassa Announces ‘Live At The Greek Theatre’ Release.

On Friday 23rd September 2016, Grammy-nominated blues-rock guitarist Joe Bonamassa will deliver “Live at the Greek Theatre”; a 22-track Double CD, Double DVD, Blu-ray, and 3-LP Deluxe Edition tribute to three of the greatest bluesmen to ever live – Albert King, B.B. King, and Freddie King.

 Live at the Greek Theatre showcases “The Three Kings” tour of 2015; a 14-date US amphitheater tour that culminated on August 29th at famed Los Angeles venue The Greek.  Bonamassa celebrates the trio of blues icons with over two hours of some the greatest blues songs ever written. The release includes a collector’s edition booklet, and several bonus features containing behind-the-scenes footage and more.

Playing on a warm summer night to a nearly sold-out crowd, Bonamassa’s handpicked set list of songs was called“spectacular” by Premier Guitar; Los Angeles Times said the show “had swing and polish” and that “Bonamassa evoked the signature licks of all three icons while managing to put his own stamp on things.” Songs ranged from blues standards to deep cuts, including “Born Under A Bad Sign,” “Lonesome Whistle Blues,” “Hummingbird,” “Let The Good Times Roll,” and, of course, B.B. King’s famed “The Thrill Is Gone” as the evening closer.

You can watch ‘Let The Good Times Roll’ below:


‘Live At The Greek Theatre’ Tracklisting:

01. See See Baby
02. Some Other Day, Some Other Time
03. Lonesome Whistle Blues
04. Sittin’ On The Boat Dock
05. You’ve Got To Love Her With A Feeling
06. Going Down
07. I’ll Play The Blues For You
08. I Get Evil
09. Breaking Up Somebody’s Home
10. Angel Of Mercy
11. Cadillac Assembly Line
12. Oh, Pretty Woman
13. Let The Good Times Roll
14. Never Make Your Move Too Soon
15. Ole Time Religion
16. Nobody Loves Me But My Mother
17. Boogie Woogie Woman
18. Hummingbird
19. Hide Away
20. Born Under A Bad Sign
21. The Thrill Is Gone
22. Riding With The Kings

For Bonamassa, the tour’s importance deepened significantly when B.B., his friend and mentor, passed away two months before it began. “My only regret is that B.B. was not alive to see it,” said Bonamassa.

The eleven-piece band included Anton Fig (drums), Kirk Fletcher (guitar), Michael Rhodes (bass), Reese Wynans (piano, Hammond organ), Lee Thornburg(trumpet, horn arrangements), Paulie Cerra (saxophone), Nick Lane (trombone), and a trio of backup singers including Mahalia Barnes, Jade MacRae, and Juanita Tippins.

This tour gave a portion of proceeds to presenting partner Keeping the Blues Alive Foundation, a non-profit Bonamassa founded in 2011 that promotes the heritage of the blues to the next generation, funds music scholarships, and supplements the loss of music education in public schools.

Joe Bonamassa

Joe Bonamassa: ‘Live At The Greek Theatre’ will be released by Provogue Records/Mascot Label Group on Friday 23rd September 2016. It will be released on CD/DVD, Blu-Ray and 3LP. For more information visit his official website:

(Feature Image Photo Credit: Christie Goodwin)