The Marcus King Band Announce New Album

Supplied By PR

Our Glenn managed to see Marcus King Band on their first visit to the UK, returning home with the firm recommendation that a group with such instrumental dexterity, soulful vocals, strong material and jamming prowess needed to be experienced to believe all the stories.  How right he was!  My own first time at an MKB performance left me astonished at their range and mastery of tones. Now, good news for fans or the as yet uninitiated…

The fast-rising Marcus King Band have announced their new album, Carolina Confessions, set for release on Friday 5th October 2018 via Snakefarm Records.

Produced and mixed by Grammy award-winner Dave Cobb (Chris Stapleton / Sturgill Simpson) at Nashville’s iconic RCA Studio A, this third album sees 22-year-old Marcus and his band taking a major leap forwards in terms of song-writing, production, musical dexterity and emotional weight. The featured tracks, including lead UK single ‘Welcome ’Round Here’, a potent mix of blues-soaked guitars and intoxicating crescendos, find the group’s trademark sound buoyed by a new narrative depth, as Marcus delves into heavy themes: absolution, guilt, leaving home, yearning, love and other affairs of the soul.

The band has debuted two new tracks as ‘instant grat’ recordings – ‘Homesick’ and the aforementioned ‘Welcome ’Round Here’. Pre-order ‘Carolina Confessions’ here.

The album showcases 10 brand new songs, all penned by Marcus except for ‘How Long’, a co-write with The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach and veteran songwriter Pat McLaughlin. Whether it’s the searing rock exorcism of ‘Confessions’ or the propulsive road-bound soul of ‘Where I’m Headed’, Marcus – born and raised in Greenville, South Carolina – exhibits an almost Southern gothic sensibility in his songs, owning up to failed relationships, portraying his complex connection with his hometown, and generally displaying an expansive musical firmament in the process.

A Blue Ridge Mountain boy, King has been writing songs and performing onstage for half of his lifetime and fronting his own groups for nearly a decade. Since he was a teenager, he’s been trading licks with famous fans and mentors Warren Haynes and Derek Trucks – indeed, so blown away was Haynes by the then-19-year-old that he signed King to his Evil Teen label, releasing the band’s debut album, Soul Insight, in 2015 and producing the self-titled follow-up a year later.

Simply, Marcus and his five band-mates – drummer Jack Ryan, bass player Stephen Campbell, trumpeter / trombonist Justin Johnson, sax player Dean Mitchell and keyboard player DeShawn ‘D-Vibes’ Alexander – are on a mission to create a fresh musical experience effortlessly combining rock, blues and soul into a dynamic and atmospheric sound.

Watch the album teaser here.

‘Carolina Confessions’ Album Tracklisting:

  1. Where I’m Headed
  2. Goodbye Carolina
  3. Homesick
  4. 8 a.m.
  5. How Long
  6. Autumn Rains
  7. Confessions
  8. Side Door
  9. Remember
  10. Welcome ’Round Here


You can read our exclusive interview with Marcus King here:

Pete Sargeant

(Thanks to Chris at Wilful Publicity for help with this announcement)

Photos Supplied By PR

The Marcus King Band’s new album ‘Carolina Confessions’ is released on Friday 5th October 2o18 on Snakefarm Records. 

You can pre-order the album here:

In addition, the band will be embarking on a headline UK Tour in October 2018 and you can read all about the tour here:

For more information visit the band’s official website here: